‘Final eight’ format confirmed for Champions League and Europa League

Etihad Stadium

Manchester Metropolis will must fill hosted the 2d leg in opposition to Read Madrid in March

This season’s Champions League and Europa League competitions will be done in August with ‘final eight’ tournaments in Lisbon, Portugal and in cities across Germany.

The Ladies’s Champions League can even be a knockout tournament, in northern Spain between 21 to 30 August.

Competitions fill been suspended in March attributable to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Uefa also confirmed that every and each 12 new host cities will stage matches within the delayed Euro 2020 finals.

That opponents will now launch on 11 June 2021. The notorious play-off matches will be staged throughout the global windows beginning on 8 October and 12 November, respectively.

The Champions League will resume with the 2d-leg of the rest remaining 16 video games played on 7 and eight August – Manchester Metropolis fill but to play their house leg in opposition to Right Madrid, Chelsea are away at Bayern Munich, Juventus are house to Lyon and Napoli are at Barcelona. Uefa acknowledged it has but to mediate whether to host the matches on the house grounds or at a fair venue.

The next knockout rounds will be single-leg affairs and must soundless be hosted in Lisbon between 12 to 23 August. The final has been scheduled for 23 August within the Portuguese capital.

Istanbul, in the beginning appointed to stage the 2020 final, will now host the 2021 final.

The Europa League will resume from 10 August. The remaining remaining 16 video games will be played on 5 and 6 August.

Uefa acknowledged: “A decision will be made in due path on whether these matches for which the necessary leg has already been played will be staged on the house crew’s venue or in Germany.

“Inter Milan v Getafe and Sevilla v Roma, whose first leg became also postponed, will be played as a single leg at a venue to be confirmed.”

The Ladies’s Champions League, where Arsenal and Glasgow Metropolis fill already reached the rest eight, will be held in Bilbao and San Sebastian between 21 and 30 August. The final will be in San Sebastian on 30 August.

Leave a Comment