New Year Honors 2020: Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody becomes OBE


Gary Lightbody performing a Snow Patrol concertImage copyright Getty Pictures

Snow Patrol frontman Gary Lightbody is amongst nearly 100 people from Northern Ireland who feature on the Queen’s Novel Year Honours list.

He turns into an OBE for companies to song and charity.

This year his band’s 2006 ballad Chasing Automobiles became named themost-played song of the 21st Century on UK radio.

Also recognised for companies to song and charity are the Catholic priests who operate because the classical crew The Monks – they every change into an MBE.

Father David Delargy and brothers Fr Martin O’Hagan and Fr Eugene O’Hagan are priests from the Diocese of Down and Connor.

They’ve been singing collectively for the reason that 1970s and released their debut album as The Monks in April 2008 after signing a document take care of a major trace.

Image copyright Seesaw PR
Image caption The Monks have came upon a worldwide following over the last decade

They’ve since equipped several million data worldwide and have performed for the Royal Family, Pope Francis and the Irish president.

“Song can lower across all varieties of divides and difficulties and people might likely likely also be united thru song and harmony,” Fr Eugene O’Hagan told BBC Data NI.

“We have skilled that within the final 11 years.”

The announcement of Lightbody’s recognition comes trusty just a few days after the death of his father Jack.

In a put up on Instagram on Friday, the singer, from Bangor in County Down, acknowledged his father had “taught me and gave me rather a lot”.

Sports actions stars furthermore feature within the Queen’s Honours, with the ragged Northern Ireland captain Aaron Hughes turning into an MBE for companies to soccer.

The 40-year-earlier, from Cookstown in County Tyrone,retired this yearafter successful 112 world caps.

Image copyright Getty Pictures
Image caption Aaron Hughes’ long career in soccer came to an halt in June

TheParalympic famous particular person Michael McKillopturns into an MBE for companies to incapacity awareness and athletics in Northern Ireland.

The runner from Newtownabbey, County Antrim, became diagnosed with a gradual construct of cerebral palsy when he became earlier two.

He has four Paralympic gold medals, four World Championship gold medals and two European Championship golds.

Media playback is unsupported on your system

Media captionMichael McKillop says receiving an MBE is “a really mighty and truly particular”

Talking to BBC Data NI, he acknowledged he became proud to be honoured.

“I jog for the island of Ireland – I’m apolitical,” he acknowledged.

“It would not matter who you is likely, what you is likely – if you purple meat up me I list you at any time once I lunge on the enviornment stage and I’ve repeatedly stood by that.”

The honours system

Most steadily awarded ranks:

  • Companion of Honour – Restricted to 65 people. Recipients wear the initials CH after their name
  • Knight or Dame
  • CBE – Commander of the Present of the British Empire
  • OBE – Officer of the Present of the British Empire
  • MBE – Member of the Present of the British Empire
  • BEM – British Empire Medal

Wilma Erskine, the outgoing secretary manager of Royal Portrush Golf Club, furthermore makes the list, turning into an OBE for companies to tourism and golf.

It isn’t very the critical time she has made the Queen’s Honours list – she became awarded the British Empire Medal in 2015.

Ms Erskine retired as secretary manager after The Inaugurate Championshipreturned to the direction in July – she had been in her feature on the membership for 35 years.

Image copyright Getty Pictures
Image caption Wilma Erskine became a key resolve within the motivate of the scenes at The Inaugurate at Royal Portrush in July

Alastair Hamilton, the ragged chief executive of Invest Northern Ireland, turns accurate into a CBE.

He got his honour for companies to economic pattern in Northern Ireland.

Hestepped down from his put upon the enterprise pattern company this year after a decade within the feature.

Roseann Kelly, the chief executive of Girls folks In Industry, turns into an MBE, furthermore for companies to economic pattern.

She has led the enterprise purple meat up community over the last 10 years because the organisation has grown from 80 members to greater than 2,500.

Here is the total list of Northern Ireland recipients:

Present of the Tub

Noel Henry Lavery

Commanders of the Present of the British Empire (CBE)

Alastair David Hamilton

Cheryl Lamont

Present of the British Empire (OBE)

Andrew George Browne

Wilma Isobel Erskine-Heggarty B.E.M.

Patrick Francis Grey

John Healy

Olive Paula Hill

Gary Lightbody

Timothy Losty

Maria Louise McHugh

Alan Smith

Anthony Baxter Stevens

Mercer Lindsay Todd

Participants of the Present of the British Empire (MBE)

Robert David Boyd

Emily Florence Brunt

Raymond Michael Burrows

Maureen Winifred Campbell

Paula Marie Dawson

David Delargy

Andrew Robert Freeburn

Tracey Helen Pringle Hamilton

Aaron William Hughes

Karen Jayne Hutchinson

Antonia (Toni) Johnson

Roseann Kelly

Angela Lynam

Francis Ronald Lyons

William Michael Mawhinney

Kay Louise Maddieson

Stephen Patrick McBrearty

Michael Gerard McKillop

Philip McLaughlin

Yvonne Mulholland

Eileen Rose Mullan

Ciara Angela Nicholl

Eugene Damien O’Hagan

Martin O’Hagan

Catherine Shipman

William John Snoddy

Jiemin Tomita

Medallist of the Present of the British Empire (BEM)

William John Armstrong

Martha Rosalind Elizabeth Bloomfield

Leslie Alan Carswell

Gary Robert Chambers

Mary Adams Corkum

Margaret Roslyn Davidson

William Joseph Eames

James William Murray Fairbairn

Frederick Ivor Ferguson

Michael John Armand Gaillard

Thomas Harold Gardiner

John Alexander Gibson

Geoffrey Alan Hegarty

Oliver Garfield Laffin

Frances Lavery

Letty Lucas

Barry Macauley

George Martin Mace

George Mann

Connor McCarroll

Bernard McComiskey

Bernard Thomas McCullagh

John Alexander McIlrath

Irwyn McKibbin

John Brian McMaster

Sonya McMullan

John Joseph Laurence McNally

Paul Michael

Robert John Bernard Law 1st viscount montgomery of alamein

Alison Sally Glenn Mullan

Patrick Kevin Mullan

Simon Neill

Susannah Virginia O’Neill

Barry John Phillips

Heather Angela Platt

James Neville Pogue

Myrtle Winifred Pogue

Gerard Liam Energy

Alison Reddick

Brian Reid

John (Jack) Alexander Reid

Alan Ross

Andrew Conrad Rowan

Alison Doreen Smith

Robert Jeffery

Lynda Joan Storey

Norman Alexander Taylor TD

Thomas Kenneth Taylor

Robert Thompson

Michael Todd

James Kenneth Twyble

Denyse Kathleen Walker

Queen’s Police Medal (QPM)

Julie Break of day Forsythe

David Lowans

David James McIlwaine

Queen’s Fire Service Medal (QFSM)

David Harbinson

Leave a Comment